Local Government
Perth
Region
Metropolitan
57 Murray St Perth
Chief Inspector of Factories and Early Closin
Chief Protector of Aborigines, A O Neville's Office
Perth Medical and Health Department; Colonial
Perth
Metropolitan
Constructed from 1912
Type | Status | Date | Documents | More information |
---|---|---|---|---|
Heritage List | Adopted | 20 Dec 1985 | ||
State Register | Registered | 28 Aug 2001 |
Register Entry Assessment Documentation |
Heritage Council |
Type | Status | Date | Documents |
---|---|---|---|
(no listings) |
Type | Status | Date | Grading/Management | More information | |
---|---|---|---|---|---|
Category | Description | ||||
Register of the National Estate | Permanent | 21 Mar 1978 |
|
Heritage Council | |
Classified by the National Trust | Classified | 01 Dec 1975 |
|
Heritage Council | |
Perth Draft Inventory 99-01 | YES | 31 Dec 1999 |
|
Heritage Council | |
Local Heritage Survey | Adopted | 28 Mar 2023 |
|
||
Municipal Inventory | Adopted | 13 Mar 2001 | Category 1 |
Category 1 |
|
Local Heritage Survey | Completed\Draft |
|
The place was associated with, and occupied by, a number of State Government departments dating from its construction in 1912 until 1992, including in particular the Public Health and Medical Department; the Chief Secretary’s Department; and the Department of Aborigines and Fisheries and as such represents the administration of the State Government from 1912 to the 1990s.
The place is a fine example of the work of Chief Architect Hillson Beasley with its high design quality exhibited in its planning, the design of the façade of the building featuring Donnybrook stone, large windows and finely detailed iron balustrading and internal detailing including ornate moulded ceilings, clear leadlights and fine timber details including the staircase and an Arts and Crafts style fireplace surround.
The place is a major component of the streetscape by virtue of its fine detailing and the distinctive Donnybrook stone façade.
The place was the office of the Department of Aborigines from 1922 to 1944/1945, and for the Chief Protector of Aborigines A. O. Neville, from 1926 to his retirement in 1940, and was therefore associated with the development and implementation of State Government policies towards Aboriginal people such as the removal and assimilation of children of mixed descent and the resettlement of Aboriginal families at Government settlements such as Moore River.
These policies had a major impact on the lives of many Aboriginal people who in recent times have been prominent in the reconciliation process.
The place was associated with the development of public health administration in Western Australia and specifically with the Health Act, 1911, which established the Public Health and Medical Department for which the building was constructed in 1912.
It provided accommodation for the first Commissioner of Public Health Dr James Hope from 1909 to 1915, and Dr R. C. Everitt Atkinson, Commissioner from 1915 to 1944.
The place provided accommodation for the Chief Secretary’s Department from 1912 to 1970/1971 and for various Chief Secretaries including the Hon. John Michael Drew, MLC, and Undersecretary Hubert Charles Trethowan.
The place was constructed by builder S. B. Alexander, who was also the proprietor of the Donnybrook Freestone quarries.
The place is highly valued by the community.
Two storey symmetrical building with 3 central arched openings and small iron balcony at first floor level. Hipped roofs with ventilation gables.
Rock faced stone detail used as a feature around productive entrance.
Public building constructed in 1912 as part of the extensive programme of Public Works carried out in Perth in the period of expansion following the gold boom of the 1890's. The original lot the building is located was owned by Edward Stone and Septimus Burt who were partners in a law firm. Their office was located on the property as well as St George’s Hall, which was the first theatre in Perth. In 1896 the land was transferred to the Crown, except the portion where the law office was located. St Georges Hall became the Government Photo Lithographic Office. Other buildings were located on the property. In 1911 it was proposed that the property was to be redeveloped as the Perth Medical and Health Department building which would accommodate the increase in staff. Probably one of the last buildings in Perth to use Donnybrook Sandstone for the whole facade. The building was built in 1912 as a result, of a tender let to Mr SB Alexander in 1911 for the sum of 10,397 pounds to a design prepared by the Public Works Architect Hillson Beasley. Various State government departments have been located in this building including the Health Department, Chief Secretary’s Department and Department of Native Affairs and Pollution Control division of the Environmental Protection Agency which was the last department to occupy the building. During the time the building was Department of Native Affairs was the time of the Stolen Generations and when the Government controlled Aboriginal people’s lives. Many people waited outside the building for information.
The building has been used for community welfare organisations and is currently the location of Yokai which is an advocacy organisation to action the Bringing Them Home Report.
High level of integrity.
High level of authenticity as it is largely as originally constructed with detail intact.
Very Good
Ref ID No | Ref Name | Ref Source | Ref Date |
---|---|---|---|
Public Health and Medical Department (fmr) Conservation Plan Heritage and Conservation Professionals | City of Perth Corporate Library | December 1999 | |
1.49/57 | Heritage Place File | City of Perth | |
P1705035 | COP File P1705035 Conservation Report | ||
HCWA Assessment | Heritage Council WA | April 2001 | |
Cox Howlett Bailey Murray Street (East) Conservation Plan | 1997 | ||
Draft Municipal Heritage Inventory | City of Perth | 2001 |
Library Id | Title | Medium | Year Of Publication |
---|---|---|---|
4564 | Proposed Co-Located District Courts Between Hay and Murray Streets, Perth : conservation report | Heritage Study {Other} | 2000 |
9891 | Perth Medical and Health Department Offices (former), 57 Murray Street DRAFT | Heritage Study {Cons'n Plan} | 2011 |
10025 | 57 Murray Street Perth: archival record | Electronic | 2012 |
4563 | Public Health and Medical Department (fmr) : 57 Murray Street, Perth : conservation plan | Heritage Study {Cons'n Plan} | 2000 |
Individual Building or Group
Epoch | General | Specific |
---|---|---|
Present Use | HEALTH | Office or Administration Bldg |
Original Use | GOVERNMENTAL | Office or Administration Bldg |
Style |
---|
Federation Free Classical |
Federation Free Style |
Type | General | Specific |
---|---|---|
Wall | STONE | Donnybrook Sandstone |
Roof | TILE | Terracotta Tile |
General | Specific |
---|---|
SOCIAL & CIVIC ACTIVITIES | Government & politics |
SOCIAL & CIVIC ACTIVITIES | Community services & utilities |
This information is provided voluntarily as a public service. The information provided is made available in good faith and is derived from sources believed to be reliable and accurate. However, the information is provided solely on the basis that readers will be responsible for making their own assessment of the matters discussed herein and are advised to verify all relevant representations, statements and information.