

COUNCIL OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

REGISTER OF HERITAGE PLACES Permanent Entry

1. DATA BASE No. 2053

- 2. NAME Chief Secretary/Public Health Department (fmr) (1912; 1925/26/27/28; 1951; 1964-6)
- FORMER NAME Perth Medical and Health Department; Colonial Secretary's Department; Chief Inspector of Factories and Early Closing Office; Medical, Public Health, Factories Department and Central Board of Health; State Hotels, the Inspection of Liquors and State Tourist Bureau; Rottnest Control Board; Department of Aborigines and Fisheries; State Health Department; the School of Hygiene; Royal Sanitary Institute; Nurses Registration Board; Midwives Registration Board; War Funds Council; Minister of Police; Prisons Department; Occupational Health, Clean Air and Noise Abatement; Pollution Control division; Life in Focus; Living Stone Foundation; Lifeline.
- **3. LOCATION** 57 Murray Street, Perth

4. DESCRIPTION OF PLACE INCLUDED IN THIS ENTRY

That part of Perth Lot 981, being part Crown Reserve 39908 and being part of the land comprised in Crown Land Record Volume 3055 Folio 960 as is defined in Heritage Council of Western Australia survey drawing No. 2053. prepared by Steffanoni Ewing & Cruickshank Pty Ltd.

5. LOCAL GOVERNMENT AREA City of Perth

6. OWNER The State of Western Australia.

7. HERITAGE LISTINGS

• Register of Heritage Places:	Interim Permanent	16/10/1992 28/08/2001
National Trust Classification:Town Planning Scheme:	Classified	01/12/1975
Municipal Inventory:Register of the National Estate:	Permanent	21/03/1978

8. CONSERVATION ORDER

9. HERITAGE AGREEMENT

10. STATEMENT OF SIGNIFICANCE

Chief Secretary/Public Health Department (fmr), a two storey brick and tile building designed in the Federation Free Classical style with influences of Federation Free style, with a handsome symmetrically designed Donnybrook stone façade featuring a central loggia of rock faced stone with cut stone above and a balcony with an iron balustrade, is of cultural heritage significance for the following reasons:

the place was associated with, and occupied by, a number of State Government departments dating from its construction in 1912 until 1992, including in particular the Public Health and Medical Department; the Chief Secretary's Department; and the Department of Aborigines and Fisheries and as such represents the administration of the State Government from 1912 to the 1990s;

the place is a fine example of the work of Chief Architect Hillson Beasley with its high design quality exhibited in its planning, the design of the façade of the building featuring Donnybrook stone, large windows and finely detailed iron balustrading and internal detailing including ornate moulded ceilings, clear leadlights and fine timber details including the staircase and an Arts and Crafts style fireplace surround;

the place is a major component of, and a landmark within, the Murray Street east precinct by virtue of its fine detailing and the distinctive Donnybrook stone façade;

the place was the office of the Department of Aborigines from 1922 to 1944/1945, and for the Chief Protector of Aborigines A. O. Neville, from 1926 to his retirement in 1940, and was therefore associated with the development and implementation of State Government policies towards Aboriginal people such as the removal and assimilation of children of mixed descent and the resettlement of Aboriginal families at Government settlements such as Moore River. These policies had a major impact on the lives of many Aboriginal people who in recent times have been prominent in the reconciliation process;

the place was associated with the development of public health administration in Western Australia and specifically with the Health Act, 1911, which established the Public Health and Medical Department for which the building was constructed in 1912. It provided accommodation for the first Commissioner of Public Health Dr James Hope from 1909 to 1915, and Dr R. C. Everitt Atkinson, Commissioner from 1915 to 1944;

the place provided accommodation for the Chief Secretary's Department from 1912 to 1970/1971 and for various Chief Secretaries including the Hon. John Michael Drew, MLC, and Undersecretary Hubert Charles Trethowan;

the place was constructed by builder S. B. Alexander, who was also the proprietor of the Donnybrook Freestone quarries; and

the place is highly valued by the community as illustrated by its classification by the National Trust which also negotiated for its retention in the 1980s when the remainder of the site was cleared for development.