Darlingup Homestead

Author

Shire of West Arthur

Place Number

08810

Location

Darlingup Moodiarrup

Location Details

Local Government

West Arthur

Region

Wheatbelt

Construction Date

Constructed from 1892

Demolition Year

N/A

Statutory Heritage Listings

Type Status Date Documents
(no listings)

Heritage Council Decisions and Deliberations

Type Status Date Documents
(no listings)

Other Heritage Listings and Surveys

Type Status Date Grading/Management
Category
Municipal Inventory Adopted 27 Mar 1997 Category 3

Statement of Significance

One of the original buildings in the district, its construction type being unique and its age make it a notable contribution to the buildings in the district.

Physical Description

Situated west of Moodiarrup located near the Darlingup Creek and Spring- the latter being a regular camping site for sandalwood gatherers and carters, and hunters. One end of the cottage has the original split timber walls with the remainder mud brick. The original shingle roof being replaced by galvanised iron. A feature is the large stone and pug chimney constructed using white clay excavated from near the building. A large olive tree shelters the building and a few remnant fruit trees remain. Nearby is a blacksmith shop made of split timber, a stone for the anvil and bellows intact.

History

The property was selected by Henry (Harry) Miller (Millar) around 1895. Harry was a half brother to Charlie and John Marsh early settlers at “Capercup”. As a very small child Harry came to the colony with his mother Elizabeth and her new husband William Marsh in 1854. On arrival the family settled at ‘Olive Hill’, Brunswick near their relatives, the Fisher family. Miller spent his early years shepherding, and although he had married in his twenties, was alone for all his years at ‘Darlingup’. In later years Henry Miller and Johnny Marsh would often get around together and when seen driving past in the sulky with their flowing white beards, people would say “here come the two Father Christmases!” Miller died in December 1935 at the age of 84 and was buried in the Darkan cemetery. The cottage was used as family home during the years 1945-1950. In recent years the property was purchased by the Jefferies family from a Perth based electrical contracting firm Everett Smith and Co.

Integrity/Authenticity

Modifications: Iron replaced shingles on roof Extent of original fabric: Most

Condition

Very Poor

References

Ref ID No Ref Name Ref Source Ref Date
Photos; "West of Arthur". p 119 Shire of West Arthur 1990
J Bird; "West of Arthur". p 120 Shire of West Arthur 1990

Place Type

Individual Building or Group

Uses

Epoch General Specific
Present Use VACANT\UNUSED Vacant\Unused
Original Use FARMING\PASTORAL Homestead

Construction Materials

Type General Specific
Wall TIMBER Other Timber
Wall STONE Other Stone
Roof METAL Corrugated Iron
Wall EARTH Adobe {Mud Brick}

Historic Themes

General Specific
DEMOGRAPHIC SETTLEMENT & MOBILITY Settlements

Creation Date

11 Jul 1997

Publish place record online (inHerit):

Approved

Last Update

01 Jan 2017

Disclaimer

This information is provided voluntarily as a public service. The information provided is made available in good faith and is derived from sources believed to be reliable and accurate. However, the information is provided solely on the basis that readers will be responsible for making their own assessment of the matters discussed herein and are advised to verify all relevant representations, statements and information.