Local Government
Irwin
Region
Midwest
260 Point Leander Dr Port Denison
Cnr St Dominics Rd & Parker St
Russ Shop (fmr)
Irwin
Midwest
Type | Status | Date | Documents |
---|---|---|---|
State Register | Registered | 17 Oct 2003 | HCWebsite.Listing+ListingDocument, HCWebsite.Listing+ListingDocument |
Type | Status | Date | Documents |
---|---|---|---|
(no listings) |
Type | Status | Date | Grading/Management | |
---|---|---|---|---|
Category | ||||
Classified by the National Trust | Classified | 05 Sep 1983 | ||
Register of the National Estate | Indicative Place | |||
Register of the National Estate | Nominated | 02 Nov 1983 | ||
Municipal Inventory | Adopted | 10 Mar 1998 | Category 1 A |
18626 Dongara Townsite
Russ Cottage is of cultural heritage significance for the following reasons: the place is an integral part of the historic coastal township of Dongara, an early settlement with a significant number of nineteenth century buildings remaining in the town; the place is a good example of a random rubble limestone building in the Victorian Georgian style, its simple construction demonstrating the methods used during the early development of Dongara; situated on a prominent corner at the edge of Point Leander Drive, the place is an obvious landmark, and together with other buildings within the historic precinct of Dongara, contributes to a significant streetscape; the place was constructed for the Russ family, early European settlers of the Irwin District. Assisted by ticket-of-leave labour, the place was built by Titus Russ, and was also occupied by his youngest son Robert Russ who established a shop adjacent to the cottage and a market garden on the adjoining land. Produce from the market garden was transported for sale in the Kalgoorlie goldfields during the 1890s; and, since 1971, the place has been highly valued by the local community as a museum housing items of local historic memorabilia, and contributes to the sense of place of the Dongara community.
RUSS COTTAGE: Prominently situated close to Point Leander Drive, this is a small four room cottage constructed of random rubble limestone with whitewashed walls, interior and exterior. The hipped roof is made of asbestos cement shingle. The main roof extends to cover the verandahs to the front and sides. There is a lean-to roof to the rear. Verandahs are supported on treated pine posts, floors to the verandahs and interior rooms are concrete, except the kitchen which are rammed anthill. Windows are timber framed with small pane casement to the front, double hung to the side and fixed to the rear. There are no ceilings inside the building. SITE OF RUSS SHOP: The site of Russ's shop is located to the north west of Russ Cottage on the south east corner of the St. Dominic's Road and Point Leander Drive.. 2004 Interpretive signage has been erected on a timber support on the front verandah.
Built by Titus Russ, who is believed to have brought stone to the site in a wheel barrow from the quarry south of the river [Place No. 85]. Titus Russ arrived with his brother in the colony in 1853 and moved to Dongara in the early 1860's to work for Hamersley. The Russ family occupied the cottage for many years. Robert Russ used the ground to the rear as a market garden and operated the Newsagents and store on a nearby site. Prior to being acquired by the Shire of Irwin in 1970, the building had become badly deteriorated. The restoration work was carried out by volunteers of the Irwin District Historical Society and the building was officially opened by the Premier of Western Australia, Sir David Brand in 1971. Shortly after its opening it was inundated by the Irwin River to a depth of two metres, however all artefacts had been removed to safety. The Society has operated this building as a museum since that time. (Source: IDHS Records and photograph) 2004 The museum displays were renewed in 2004 with additional interpretive signage, both interior and exterior. During this work, the timber lintel to the front room fireplace was found to be destroyed by termites and the chimney was in danger of collapse. The timber lintel was replaced with a steel galvanised lintel and repairs to the stonework were made to the chimney as well as to the rear kitchen wall, interior and exterior. A trench was dug along the rear (south) wall and filled with blue metal.
Integrity: Medium
Good
Ref ID No | Ref Name | Ref Source | Ref Date |
---|---|---|---|
AHC Reference 009644 01-02 | Australian Heritage Commission | ||
IDHS Records | Shire of Irwin | ||
HCWA Database No. 1230 | State Office of Heritage | ||
N Lawrence; "Russ Cottgae Conservation Plan". | 2001 |
Library Id | Title | Medium | Year Of Publication |
---|---|---|---|
5252 | Russ Cottage, Dongara : conservation plan. | Heritage Study {Cons'n Plan} | 2001 |
Individual Building or Group
Epoch | General | Specific |
---|---|---|
Original Use | FARMING\PASTORAL | Cottage |
Present Use | EDUCATIONAL | Museum |
Style |
---|
Victorian Georgian |
Type | General | Specific |
---|---|---|
Roof | ASBESTOS | Other Asbestos |
Wall | STONE | Limestone |
General | Specific |
---|---|
DEMOGRAPHIC SETTLEMENT & MOBILITY | Land allocation & subdivision |
PEOPLE | Early settlers |
This information is provided voluntarily as a public service. The information provided is made available in good faith and is derived from sources believed to be reliable and accurate. However, the information is provided solely on the basis that readers will be responsible for making their own assessment of the matters discussed herein and are advised to verify all relevant representations, statements and information.