inHerit Logo

Sunnyhurst Homestead

Author

Shire of West Arthur

Place Number

08793
There no heritage location found in the Google fusion table.

Location

Coalfields Hwy Darkan

Location Details

Location 38

Local Government

West Arthur

Region

Wheatbelt

Construction Date

Constructed from 1900

Demolition Year

Statutory Heritage Listings

Type Status Date Documents More information
(no listings)

Heritage Council Decisions and Deliberations

Type Status Date Documents
(no listings)

Other Heritage Listings and Surveys

Type Status Date Grading/Management More information
Category Description
Municipal Inventory Adopted 27 Mar 1997 Category 3

Category 3

A place of some cultural heritage significance to Shire of West Arthur. No constraints. Recommend: Encourage retention of the place, and document the place if retention is not possible.

Statement of Significance

The building is notable as it stands on the first location taken up in the Darkan area and is still owned by descendants of the original pioneers - William and Sarah Gibbs. It also is a good example of construction styles of this period and is an important part of the district’s building stock.

Physical Description

Situated near the Darkan Gully which took its name, as did the farm and later the township, from the Darkan Rock a flat granite rock. It is the only steep granite rise along the gully and probably accounts for the location of a large stone well (about 3-4 m in diameter) which was the source of water for the family (it is situated near the south west corner of the home).

The house has no eaves and is notable for the elevation of the front which has a landing, initially wooden steps. The timber floor was supported by stone pillars. Internal cladding is crimped iron. Corner fireplaces served the three large rooms on the west side of the central passageway. A weatherboard extension to the rear of the house served as the kitchen, it is also crimped iron clad on the inside. Surrounding the homestead (which is about 200m west of the Williams/Darkan Road and 100m east of the Coalfields Highway) is an extensive orchard and on the east there are remnants of a tennis court.

History

The William Gibbs family originally set up camp approximately two and a half miles west of Darkan. The well at the camp was unreliable, and a better one was sunk further down the creek, and camp was shifted to the new place. They decided to settle permanently and on 25 June 1867, applied for a tillage lease of 100 acres, one mile from Darkan Rock. Other land was selected in later years. The Gibbs’ also made a living from kangaroo skins, which they took to Perth and traded for provisions etc. (1)

The death of the Darkan pioneer, William John Gibbs in June 1895, and his wife, Harriet, just seven months later, was the end of a very significant chapter in the district’s history.

Their youngest son, Henry, who was then 37 years of age, took over the running of the ‘Darkan’ homestead farm and in later years extended the boundaries west of the Quindanning Road to take in 1600 acres of land. In 1896, Henry Gibbs became a member of the re-constituted Arthur Road Board and served on that body for 29 years. About this time, he married Eleanor Harris and the couple were to produce 10 children with the eldest, Herbert, being killed in action in France in June 1916, when only 18 years of age.

In 1912 a travelling correspondent reported
- “Darkan House”, residence of Henry Gibbs, one of the oldest in the district, 40 years standing. Of late years, nice stone house erected ... one hundred acres late sown. Horses, cattle help keep pot boiling.
With crops and high price of wool, most Darkan folk should be in a position to visit the Royal next year in their motor cars (22).

Henry and Eleanor’s third son George married Linda Lynch in 1935. He took over ‘Darkan’ farm (now ‘Sunnyhurst’) from his father. George served in World War II and had two sons, Don and Stewart, the latter running the property until his death in 1987.

Integrity/Authenticity

Modifications: Few
Extent of original fabric: Most

Condition

Poor

References

Ref ID No Ref Name Ref Source Ref Date
J Bird; "West of Arthur". pp 76, 126, 258

Place Type

Individual Building or Group

Uses

Epoch General Specific
Present Use FARMING\PASTORAL Homestead
Original Use FARMING\PASTORAL Homestead

Construction Materials

Type General Specific
Wall STONE Other Stone
Roof METAL Corrugated Iron

Historic Themes

General Specific
PEOPLE Early settlers

Creation Date

11 Jul 1997

Publish place record online (inHerit):

Approved

Last Update

01 Jan 2017

Disclaimer

This information is provided voluntarily as a public service. The information provided is made available in good faith and is derived from sources believed to be reliable and accurate. However, the information is provided solely on the basis that readers will be responsible for making their own assessment of the matters discussed herein and are advised to verify all relevant representations, statements and information.