inHerit Logo

Herne Hill Playgroup

Author

City of Swan

Place Number

23620
There no heritage location found in the Google fusion table.

Location

770 Great Northern Hwy Herne Hill

Location Details

Other Name(s)

St Michael's school

Local Government

Swan

Region

Metropolitan

Construction Date

Constructed from 1935

Demolition Year

N/A

Statutory Heritage Listings

Type Status Date Documents More information
(no listings)

Heritage Council Decisions and Deliberations

Type Status Date Documents
(no listings)

Other Heritage Listings and Surveys

Type Status Date Grading/Management More information
Category Description
Local Heritage Survey Adopted 08 Apr 2026 Category 3

Category 3

Some/Moderate Significance to the locality. Contributes to the heritage of the locality. Has some altered or modified elements, not necessarily detracting from the overall significance of the place.

Municipal Inventory Adopted 31 Mar 1998 Significant

Significant

Conservation of the place is desirable. Any alterations or extensions should be sympathetic to the heritage values of the place and original fabric whould be retained wherever possible.

Municipal Inventory Adopted 30 Aug 2017 Category 3

Category 3

Some/Moderate Significance to the locality. Contributes to the heritage of the locality. Has some altered or modified elements, not necessarily detracting from the overall significance of the place.

Statement of Significance

St Michael’s School has cultural heritage significance for the following reasons:

• The place has aesthetic value as a modest timber weatherboard school building constructed during the Inter-War period of architecture.
• The place is significant to the history of the settlement of the Swan Valley and the provision of education
in the area.
• The place has social significance to the local community members who were associated with its tenure as
a local primary school during the 20th century.

Physical Description

St Michael’s School is a single storey timber weatherboard and compressed fibre cement clad building with a
corrugated steel gable roof displaying characteristics of the Inter-War vernacular style of architecture. The place is set to the rear of the St Michael’s Roman Catholic Church.
The place has a symmetrical form with a high pitched gable roof addressing the west. The gable end is clad with timber weatherboards. A skillion verandah extends along the front elevation supported by square timber posts. Half of the front porch has been enclosed leaving a small section of timber decking. The building is raised on exposed timber footings. The entry porch is accessed via a timber ramp to the northern side.
The external walls are clad with timber weatherboards to dado height with compressed fibre cement sheets above. The main entry is through a timber door on the entry porch. The side elevations feature six 12-pane double hung sash windows.
There is a small weatherboard lean-to to the rear of the building. A detached toilet block is constructed to the south of the entry porch.
The building is enclosed by a high chain wire fence. To the north of the site is a gravel parking area and a series of mature trees.

History

In March 1827, Captain James Stirling explored the Swan River including the area which was later named Guildford, and noted the fertile soils in the Upper Swan. Stirling returned to establish the Swan River Colony in June 1829. In September 1829, Stirling and Surveyor General Roe travelled to the head of the Swan River above Guildford with a group of settlers to whom permission had been given to select land. These were the first rural land grants in the Colony.1
From 1830-31, a number of the original 1829 rural land grants were transferred to other European settlers. William Locke Brockman, pastoralist and stockbreeder, arrived at the Swan River Colony in January 1830 and took up a land grant in Upper Swan. He named his grant ‘Herne Hill’, after his wife’s, Anne Francis Isabella Hamersley, family estate. Though widely known as Herne Hill the locality boundary wasn’t approved until 21st May 1972.2
The influx of population to the state due to the goldrushes of the 1890s resulted in the need for additional land
for settlement. This saw many of the original estates, including Herne Hill, subdivided into small farms in the

early 1900s.
This building was originally part of the Herne Hill School and erected on Argyle Street in 1922.
It was relocated to its current location behind the St Michael’s Catholic Church on Great Northern Highway in 1967 where it is used as the church hall.
The building originally had a galvanised sheet roof which was replaced with the extant colorbond red roof in 2012.
The toilet block to the south of the building was constructed in 2014.3

Integrity/Authenticity

Integrity - Moderate- High: The place appears to have retained much of its original external fabric however the roof has been replaced and the entry porch partially enclosed.
Authenticity - Moderate: The place is no longer used as a school and is known associated with the church in front.

Condition

Good

Place Type

Individual Building or Group

Uses

Epoch General Specific
Original Use EDUCATIONAL Primary School

Construction Materials

Type General Specific
Wall TIMBER Weatherboard
Roof METAL Corrugated Iron

Creation Date

09 Sep 2002

Publish place record online (inHerit):

Approved

Last Update

18 Jul 2026

Disclaimer

This information is provided voluntarily as a public service. The information provided is made available in good faith and is derived from sources believed to be reliable and accurate. However, the information is provided solely on the basis that readers will be responsible for making their own assessment of the matters discussed herein and are advised to verify all relevant representations, statements and information.